Birthday Box

I’m sure you’ve all seen the popular “boxes” you can order online now. Monthly subscriptions are available for everything from beauty supplies to pet care to organic goods. It’s a fun fad, I must admit. My parents sent me a few monthly boxes designed for college students while I was at school. It was always exciting to dig through the box & see what treasures they sent out that month! These boxes typically come with sample size items & maybe a couple full size as well. They hold small trinkets &  cool new gadgets. If you don’t know what I’m talking about just google it! I see an ad on Facebook for some kind of box everyday.

So, I decided to create one for my friend Jordan’s birthday. I wanted to do a “Birthday Box” version, filled with her favorite things. I love the idea & plan to carry it over to many more birthdays! She blogged about it too over at Dreaming in Bubbles.

SONY DSC

Here’s how I did mine…

SONY DSC

I found all kinds of lovely birthday goodies!

SONY DSC

The Target One Spot was a major help here.  I can’t get enough of that place!

SONY DSC

I’ll share how to make that ‘mint to be’ jar tomorrow!

SONY DSC

I monogrammed the 2 mason jar tumblers with my silhouette using this tutorial.

SONY DSC

You can find more information on these in this post.

SONY DSC

I am so in love with these tumblers lately! They’re less than 5 bucks at Walmart. Win! They have plenty of other colors/sizes as well.

SONY DSC

Back to the box…literally. You need to find a good sturdy box. Ideally, I wanted one with a top that would lift off or open up. But this is what I had & it seemed to work just fine. If your box isn’t plain you can cover it up with plain or decorative paper.

SONY DSC

I wanted to dress up my box a bit, so I used some cute scrapbook paper & my Silhouette, of course.

SONY DSC

I wrote out- #BIRTHDAYBOX. A little cheesy but that’s what you get on your birthday!

SONY DSC

I glued the letters onto the box as straight as I could (I later noticed how not straight that was).

SONY DSC

I punched a bunch of holes out of my leftover paper.

SONY DSC

Then glued on the confetti.

SONY DSC

Fill the box with some kind of filler & bury your treasures inside.

You’re ready to give!

This is such a thoughtful yet easy to pull together gift. I don’t think you can go wrong giving someone a cute little box brimming with their favorite things.

I think someone should create one for craft supplies! Maybe call it a creative box. Does that already exist?

Anyways, hope you liked it! Let me know if you make one!

Linking up at these wonderful places this week- Soho Sonnet, The Girl Creative, Tatertots & Jello.

7 thoughts on “Birthday Box

  1. Pingback: “Mint to Be” Jar + Cut File | Slice of Southern Pie

Leave a comment