Chocolate Covered Peeps!

I’ll be spending my morning at Junk Gypsy headquarters in gorgeous Round Top, Texas, for their official ribbon cutting! Then the rest of the day will be spent doing some major antiquing at Texas Antiques Week. I am so beyond excited! I’m going with my grandparents so I can enjoy the new bluebonnets all the way there. I’m sure I’ll be sharing all about it Monday so stay tuned. If you can’t wait till then, I’ll be tweeting & instagramming all day!

Okay, okay I know you’re really here to hear about these guys…

SONY DSC SONY DSC

Now tell me, who can resist a bouquet of  Peeps!?

SONY DSC

First, you’ve got to gather your supplies- Peeps, white chocolate almond bark, assorted sprinkles, cookie sticks, & a colander*.

Originally, I grabbed the colander to stick the peeps in to dry. My cookie sticks were too big for the colander…so I resorted to the cheese grater. Maybe your cookie sticks & colander were a match made in heaven though.

Ignore the food coloring to the right, I was going crazy. I thought you could color the white chocolate using food coloring. That didn’t work out so well & now I understand why colored candy melts exist. Why didn’t anyone tell me!

SONY DSC

You can melt your chocolate double broiler style or just pop it into the microwave. Microwave at 30 second intervals, stirring in between till totally melted. I did half the bark for 1:30.

SONY DSC

Pull your Peeps apart, except don’t actually pull. You might rip them! Use a paring knife to separate them from one another & make smooth cuts.

SONY DSC

Once your chocolate has melted, get your dipping station ready (see that speckled green stuff? that’s my food color fail). This is a quick process so you want to be organized!

SONY DSC

I did them 2 ways. This way I dunked the Peep in chocolate first.

SONY DSC

Then dip him in the sprinkles.

SONY DSC

Then stick him last. Too cute right!

SONY DSC

The other way I stuck ’em first, then dunked & dipped while on the stick.

In the end, I had the most success by combining my 2 options. I dunked the Peep in chocolate, then stuck him, then sprinkled him. See what method works best for you!

SONY DSC

I just love all the bold, springy colors. They are so pretty!

SONY DSC

Especially when you put them together in a basket. This would be such a cute Easter centerpiece!

SONY DSC

I saved 2 of the boxes & did not separate them.

SONY DSC

I dunked the entire Peep row in chocolate!

SONY DSC

I flipped them over some wax paper to dry.

SONY DSC

& Covered them in bright sprinkles!

SONY DSC

Then I thought they needed a printable. Don’t you think so?

SONY DSC

I made it in 2 colors for you- pink & blue.

You can download it here!

Or copy/save as from below.

Easter 4x6 Printable Pink

Easter 4x6 Printable

SONY DSC

All my Peeps in a row. 😉

SONY DSC

Hope y’all like this one!

Does anyone actually like Peeps?

I hate to admit it, but I don’t like them one bit! I just think they’re absolutely adorable.

Linking up at my favorite places- Tatertots & Jello, Sugar Bee Crafts, Not Just a Housewife, The Turquoise Home, The Pint Sized Baker.

One thought on “Chocolate Covered Peeps!

  1. Pingback: Faux Egg Tray | Slice of Southern Pie

Leave a comment